Alternate Name(s)
Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction
CALI hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. Ask at circulation for an access code.
Alternate Name(s)
Congressional Research Service Reports
Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses. CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress. EveryCRSReport.com includes 8,277 CRS reports. The number changes regularly.
Source for law journal articles, legal reference materials, legislative history compilations, state historical statutes and cases, US treaties, US statutes and regulations, US administrative and Congressional documents, Supreme Court cases, and more. These individual collections are separately listed as databases.
Proquest provides comprehensive access to United States legislative information which is available from the publisher, Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS). Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. If you need assistance in using Congressional, please ask a reference librarian. This Database was formerly known as CIS Congressional Universe.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This database is a fully searchable bibliography of more than 5,000 law review articles on the law librarian profession in the U.S. and Canada. It is designed to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, preservation, and enjoyment of users consulting the professional literature of law librarianship.
Each article in the bibliography has been read by the editors and assigned:
-a Library Type based on the article's primary target audience
-a Significance indicating the editors' assessment of its usefulness to the researcher
-an Annotation highlighting the article's major themes and topics
-various Subject Headings designed to guide readers to articles worth exploring
Capital punishment is easily one of the most controversial and heavily debated issues in history. With this in mind, HeinOnline has created a resource packed with information on the subject, providing researchers with a comprehensive overview of the history of death penalty legislation.
Major components of History of Capital Punishment include:
-A comprehensive overview of the history of death penalty legislation
-A database version of The Eugene G. Wanger and Marilyn M. Wanger Death
Penalty Collection, the result of more than 50 years of research by Eugene G.
Wanger, a noted expert on the subject of capital punishment
-Books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, photographs, and other memorabilia
related to the history of the death penalty
-More than 7,000 bibliographic entries with links to nearly 650 full-text documents.
-Related trials, congressional hearings, periodicals and scholarly articles.
Brings together legislative histories on major legislation, briefs from Supreme Court cases, accounts of labor riots from the not-so-distant past, reports on working conditions of today, and more. Unique to this database is a chart of landmark court cases related to labor and employment law. Cases range from 1842 to 2018.
Prestatehood Legal Materials is a database derived from the AALL’s Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award-winning 2005 sourcebook, Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide, Including New York City and the District of Columbia, which is edited by Michael Chiorazzi and Marguerite Most and is held in more than 350 libraries. It provides:
-Brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood
-Identification of a wide range of both readily available and hard-to-find materials
from each state
-Links to more than 1,500 full-text documents
Free and fair elections are the lifeblood of functioning democracies. To help understand the nuances of these incredibly complex systems both at home and around the world, HeinOnline has created Voting Rights & Election Law. This database features thousands of titles on the electoral process: how elections are conducted, how votes are counted, how political campaigns are run and funded, and who is allowed to vote. Featuring content on historical and more recent elections, this database allows users to understand both how our current electoral system came to be as well as the context for proposals for its complete overhaul.
