Skip to main content

Free/Low Cost Legal Services in New Orleans: Immigration to Laws/Opinions

Immigration

Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy - provides human rights based legal services for marginalized communities, including immigrant children, asylum seekers and victims of domestic violence, disaster claims assistance and low cost legal services on land rights, including successions. Contact: 620 Oak Harbor Blvd, Suite 203, Slidell, LA 70458. (985) 643-6186, fax: (985) 643-6118. Email: info@gcclp.org

Immigration Legal Services, Catholic Charities of New Orleans - provides counseling and legal representation to immigrants and their families, including victims of domestic violence. Contact: 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 200, New Orleans, LA 70113. Call Julie Ward: (504) 457-3462, or email: jward@ccano.org. Call toll free: (866) 891-2210, or locally (504) 310-6873. 

Metropolitan Center for Women & Children - provides legal representation and advocacy for victims of domestic or date violence, sexual assault, stalking, and immigration issues affecting victims of human trafficking. Contact: 24 hour crisis hotline: (504) 837-5400.

National Immigration Legal Services Directory - provides resources for free and low cost immigration legal services. 

Orleans Parish Public Defender - The Public Defender is assigned by the court to provide legal representation to indigent clients. See their website under ‘What We Do/Legal Resources’ for information such as qualifying for a public defender, bond information, social services and resources for immigrants who have been arrested. 

  • District Defender: Derwyn Bunton, 2601 Tulane Avenue, 7th Floor, New Orleans, 70119. (504) 821-8101, fax: (504) 821-5285.
  • Juvenile Regional Services: Executive Director: Josh Perry, 1820 St. Charles, Suite 205, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 207-4577, Juvenile Court: (504) 658-9586, fax: (504) 267-4789.

Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request. 

Laws/Opinions

‚ÄčLaws/Opinions-Federal*

United States code - provides access to the laws of the United States. 

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit - provides forms, court rules and opinions of the Louisiana Federal Court of Appeals from 1992 to present. Contact: 600 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 310-7708. Fifth Circuit Library, 600 Camp Street, room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797. The United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit is listed separately. 

United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana - the website provides forms, court rules, rules and forms for filing without an attorney, and opinions from 2003 to 2015. Contact: 500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 589-7788. 

Laws/Opinions-State*

Louisiana Administrative Code - provides state agency regulations and rules, from environmental regulations to rules governing professional and occupational standards. Recent regulations not yet published in the LAC are available in the Louisiana Register and under Executive OrdersEmergency Rules, and Policy and Procedure on the Office of the State Registrar website

Louisiana State Legislature - provides access to current Louisiana laws and bills enacted from 1997 to the present. 

Municode - provides access to local laws governing municipalities in Louisiana, including New Orleans, Jefferson Parish, Kenner and Harahan.

State of Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit - provides forms, court rules, opinions from 1997 to present and links to other courts. Contact: 410 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 412-6001, fax: (504) 412-6019. Email: coc@la4th.org.  

*Also see the Libraries/Legal Research tab.