It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Alternate Name(s):Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction
CALI hosts and facilitates the creation of CALI Lessons, a library of over 1,000 interactive legal tutorials written by law professors and geared towards law students. Ask at circulation for an access code.
Alternate Name(s):Congressional Research Service Reports
Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses. CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress. EveryCRSReport.com includes 8,277 CRS reports. The number changes regularly.
Source for law journal articles, legal reference materials, legislative history compilations, state historical statutes and cases, US treaties, US statutes and regulations, US administrative and Congressional documents, Supreme Court cases, and more. These individual collections are separately listed as databases.
Proquest provides comprehensive access to United States legislative information which is available from the publisher, Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS). Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. If you need assistance in using Congressional, please ask a reference librarian. This Database was formerly known as CIS Congressional Universe.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources is dedicated to understanding the complex interplay of state and federal laws that govern all aspects of water in society, from municipal use to restoring its pristine condition. Collecting congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases, this collection touches on a wide range of water issues, including irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights, encompassing the unique water rights issues that span from the Eastern seaboard to the Great Lakes and across the arid West. In the wake of a twenty-year megadrought, water, long the most prized resource in the West, has become even more valuable. In 2021, intense debate over how to manage the mighty Colorado River, whose watershed serves seven states and parts of Mexico, reached a critical mass when the federal government declared the first shortage of water on the river. In 2022, tensions between California, Arizona, Nevada, Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, and Utah grew as the states faced drastic cuts to their water consumption to preserve dwindling reservoir levels, with differences between the states as to who should bear the brunt of the cuts. As the creator of the Grand Canyon falls lower and lower, the 40 million people who all depend on the Colorado River face a dire reckoning and drastic change to their way of life. In the face of so much uncertainty, water rights and how to use our water resources becomes even more vital to understand.