Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related Loyola Research Guides
Other Research Guides
Great guides from outside sources that contain SO MUCH information - starting points for background information and research tools.
Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at New York University, this contains research guides for hundreds of topics in international and foreign law.
Electronic Resource Guide
Best for those who prefer the internet. A product of the American Society of International Law. Provides online sources for researching areas of international law.
Report from the Library of Congress on the national legislatures of Australia, Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, South Korea, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.
International Comparative Legal Guides
Includes multi-jurisdictional and country-by-country surveys. Search by jurisdiction or practice area. Free to browse online. Practice areas include copyright, environment, family law, international arbitration, shipping law, and many others. Free to read online.
Canada Supreme Court Reports - HeinOnline
HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports contains the official bilingual series published under authority of the Supreme Court Act. This collection includes more than 9,400 cases which include background information, statutes and regulations, authors cited, analysis and the decision.
English Reports - HeinOnline
The English Reports delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases. Also included in this collection is the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.
European Centre for Minority Issues - HeinOnline
The ECMI conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. This library contains several publications of the ECMI, including ECMI Reports and Working Papers.
Financial Times has the latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Contact a librarian for access credentials.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database - HeinOnline
FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
Foreign Relations of the United States - HeinOnline
This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 600 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Jimmy Carter in 1980.
Source for law journal articles, legal reference materials, legislative history compilations, state historical statutes and cases, US treaties, US statutes and regulations, US administrative and Congressional documents, Supreme Court cases, and more. These individual collections are separately listed as databases.
History of Early English Law - HeinOnline
This library includes the Selden Society Annual Series, Selden Society Supplementary Series and the Centenary Guide to the Publications of the Selden Society published in 1987. It also includes more than 220 English Legal History Classics including abridgements, digests and dictionaries. Moreover, you will be able to access early English case law and link to other online publications in early English history.
History of International Law - HeinOnline
Includes more than 1,100 titles and 800,000 pages dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more!
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - HeinOnline
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews which appear in nearly 540 legal journals published worldwide.
International Law Association Reports - HeinOnline
The International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions.
Law Journal Library - HeinOnline
Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Includes: American Bar Association journals, core US journals, criminal justice journals, international & non-US law journals, and most-cited law journals.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) online edition, edited by Rüdiger Wolfrum, is a fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law published in print between 1991 and 2001 under the general editorship of Rudolf Bernhardt. On-campus access only.
Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications - HeinOnline
This collection includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School. View publications such as the 22-volume set, A Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law. Book and Articles in English by Charles Szladits, along with An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by E. Allan Farnsworth, among various others.
Revised Statutes of Canada - HeinOnline
Complete coverage of all six revisions from the official printed volumes of the Revised Statutes of Canada in nearly 48,000 pages.
Scottish Legal History - HeinOnline
This collection includes the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series consisting of 53 volumes (1936-present), vols. 1-3 of the Stair Society Supplementary Series, as well as books, abridgments and links to scholarly articles from HeinOnline's Law Journal Library that discuss Scots law.
Session Laws Library - HeinOnline
This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception!
Statistical Abstract of the World
The Statistical Abstract of the World is a collection of data from many countries, generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments. It contains country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Currently covers over 75 countries including: Afghanistan, Brazil, Cyprus, India, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, and Turkey.
Statutes of the Realm - HeinOnline
The Statutes of the Realm is an authoritative collection of Acts of the Parliament of England from the earliest times to the Union of the Parliaments in 1707, and Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain passed up to the death of Queen Anne in 1714.
U.S. International Trade Library - HeinOnline
Featuring the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930, this collection brings together more than one million pages' worth of content. Included are USITC Publications Archive, Legislative Histories, CFR & U.S. Code Title 15 and 19: Commerce & Foreign Trade and Customs Duties, Notable Publications, Scholarly Articles, and much more!
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library - HeinOnline
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
World Constitutions Illustrated - HeinOnline
This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
World Trials Library - HeinOnline
This collection includes more than 3,500 trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials. It also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
Using the catalog to search the print collection
We have a lot of books and other print materials that contain different or even more information than what can be found online. Give these resources a try - you can search electronically using the Library's Catalog at lawcat.loyno.edu. By searching subject headings or doing a keyword search, you can browse all materials dealing with that particular subject.