LibGuides: Maritime Law: Helpful Secondary Sources

Specialized Legal Research
Call Number: KF 240.S69 2014 Reference
This work covers legal research in nine specialized substantive areas. See Chapter 7 Admiralty and Maritime Law, which provides substantive overviews, governing laws, and research resources generally and on the following specific subjects: collision and shipowner's liability; marine insurance; maritime claims; marine transportation and carriage by water; personal injury and wrongful death; salvage, towage, and pilotage; marine pollution; and maritime terrorism.
Benedict on Admiralty
Call Number: KF 1104.B4 1950
Available in print and online via Lexis Advance. "Jr.Benedict on Admiralty is the most complete research tool in the field. All the materials you need to practice maritime law are in this one set, including: * Concise discussion of every current issue * Explanations of court opinions and their implications * Reprints of hard-to-find primary source material * Charter parties and clauses * Treaties* Admiralty rules * Marine insurance forms * Practice and procedure forms on a variety of maritime issues." --Publisher
Admiralty and Maritime Law (Federal Judicial Center) by Robert Force
Call Number: KF 1104 .F67 2013
Available in print and online via Westlaw. "The FJC's Admiralty & Maritime Law introduces federal judges and lawyers to admiralty and maritime law, including both general maritime and statutory law. The author examines the rules relating to jurisdiction and procedure that are peculiar to this field. Topics include areas relating to commercial law, such as charter parties, carriage of goods, and marine insurance." --Publisher
Law of Seamen
Available via Westlaw. "Text of The Law of Seamen, Fifth Edition, a treatise by Robert Force and Martin J. Norris that covers maritime law governing rights and obligations of merchant seamen, including applicable federal statutes such as the Jones Act; wages, deductions, and setoffs; improper discharge; maritime liens; desertion and criminal offenses; duties of master and crew; practice and procedure; and issues of jurisdiction." --Publisher

Organizations

Comite Maritime International (CMI)
A major international organization for maritime law, the Maritime International Committee works toward unification of maritime law. It has a large number of helpful publications, produces a yearbook, and maintains a database of case law.
International Maritime Organization (IMO)
An agency of the UN. Provides full texts of documents and resolutions, access to collected data, papers and articles by experts, and over 200 publications. See "Knowledge Centre" on the top menu for the most information.
L'Association Francaise du Droit Maritime
French Association for Maritime - provides list of French maritime laws (including European Union and international materials) and links to other maritime organizations. Text is in French only.
Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law Yearbook
A part of the University of Oslo Faculty of Law. Covers maritime, transport, petroleum, and energy law. Available through the Foreign & International Law Resources Database - HeinOnline.

This first page of the table of contents for the "Admiralty and Maritime Law" chapter in Specialized Legal Research illustrates how helpful research guides can be for researchers. This particular guide divides the broader subject into more specific areas - such as liability, insurance, and personal injury - and then lists relevant statutes and helpful secondary sources.

Study Aids

Admiralty in a Nutshell by Frank L. Maraist; Thomas C. Galligan; Catherine M. Maraist
Call Number: KF 1105.M34 2017 (Reserve)
Addresses maritime tort law, collision law, worker injury claims, wrongful death, and platform injuries. Explores maritime property liens and the seaman's employment contract, wages, and compromise of claims. Discusses marine insurance, towage and pilotage, salvage, and general average. Also covers sovereign immunity; joint and several liability, indemnity, and contribution; liability limitations; and jurisdiction and procedure in maritime claims.
The Law of the Sea in a Nutshell, 2d by Louis B. Sohn; John E. Noyes; Erik Franckx; Kristen Gustafson Juras
Call Number: KZA 1145 .L3785 2010
This comprehensive guide summarizes the current principles and rules governing the international law of the sea. Topics include the rights and responsibilities of states in various zones of the oceans, fisheries and non-living resources,vessel nationality and jurisdiction over vessels, maritime terrorism and security, maritime boundary delimitation and baselines, marine environment and dispute settlement mechanisms. The text discusses the widely accepted United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and other relevant treaties, legislation, and jurisprudence, including U.S. and European laws, cases, and practice.
Admiralty and Maritime Law by Thomas J. Schoenbaum; Jessica Mcclellan
Call Number: KF 1104.S36 2019 (Reserve)
This Hornbook is a handy, streamlined one-volume abridgement of the 5th edition of Schoenbaum's comprehensive Practitioners' treatise on Admiralty and Maritime Law. The Hornbook covers the essential topics of jurisdiction, admiralty rules and practice, maritime torts, seamen's remedies, maritime workers' compensation, carriage of goods by sea in international trade, charter parties, towage, pilotage, salvage, collision and limitation of liablility. Ideal for students and those wanting an introduction to this important field of law, this book places emphasis on the international aspects of maritime law.

Maritime Law: Helpful Secondary Sources

Organizations

Study Aids

Historical Materials