LibGuides: Tax Citation Materials: Home

Print Resources

Specialized Legal Research
Call Number: KF 240.S69 2014 Reference
This work covers legal research in nine specialized substantive areas. See Chapter 3 Federal Income Taxation for information on: tax-specific court decisions; legislative histories; case citators; IRS guidance on regulations, rulings, and acquiescences; treaties; and online tax services.
TaxCite: A Federal Tax Citation and Reference Manual
Call Number: KF 245 .T39 1995
This resource from the ABA et al. could potentially be helpful. It has more in-depth guidance that the Bluebook lacks but note that it will be very technologically dated because it has not been updated since 1995.
Federal Income Tax Law: A Legal Research Guide by Christopher C. Dykes
Call Number: KF 241.T38 D95 2010
International Tax Law: A Legal Research Guide by Christopher C. Dykes
Call Number: K 103 .T3 D95 2011
RIA Federal Tax Handbook
Call Number: KF 6285 .P74 (Reserve)
"Designed to provide quick and easy access to critical tax questions, the RIA Federal Tax Handbook offers comprehensive, insightful guidance on federal tax law, including the latest regulations, rulings, and revenue procedures as well as precise explanations about changes that could impact your business or your clients."
Tax Research Techniques
Call Number: KF 241 .T38 G35 2003
West's Tax Law Dictionary
Call Number: KF 6287.W473 (Reference)

Electronic Resources

Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Legislative Insight, a part of ProQuest Congressional, is a comprehensive database tool for researching United State Federal Legislative History.
Proquest Congressional Resources This link opens in a new window
Proquest provides comprehensive access to United States legislative information which is available from the publisher, Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS). Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. If you need assistance in using Congressional, please ask a reference librarian. This Database was formerly known as CIS Congressional Universe.
U.S. Congressional Documents - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-2015), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history.
Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them. Contact a librarian for access credentials.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Financial Times has the latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Contact a librarian for access credentials.

Quick Tips for Westlaw and Lexis
by Brian Huddleston Last Updated Mar 29, 2022 104 views this year

Tax Citation Materials: Home

Print Resources

Electronic Resources

Copyright