Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Websites for UK Law
Official Papers UK (last visited Nov. 8, 2015). Maintained by the Standing Committee on Official Publications for the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, this blog gives helpful guidance and updates on collections of government documents. Their page on Notable Resources provides easy access to official government websites in the UK and Ireland, along with web archives and other collections.
LAWLINKS, University of Kent (last updated Oct. 9, 2015).
Diana Venables, Legal Resources in the UK and Ireland.
Related Loyola Research Guides
English Reports - HeinOnline
The English Reports delivers exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. In addition, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature enhance the ease of access to specific cases. Also included in this collection is the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.
History of Early English Law - HeinOnline
This library includes the Selden Society Annual Series, Selden Society Supplementary Series and the Centenary Guide to the Publications of the Selden Society published in 1987. It also includes more than 220 English Legal History Classics including abridgements, digests and dictionaries. Moreover, you will be able to access early English case law and link to other online publications in early English history.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - HeinOnline
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews which appear in nearly 540 legal journals published worldwide.
Legal Classics - HeinOnline
Includes more than 5,500 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many "classics" this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) online edition, edited by Rüdiger Wolfrum, is a fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law published in print between 1991 and 2001 under the general editorship of Rudolf Bernhardt. On-campus access only.
Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law Publications - HeinOnline
This collection includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School. View publications such as the 22-volume set, A Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law. Book and Articles in English by Charles Szladits, along with An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by E. Allan Farnsworth, among various others.
Scottish Legal History - HeinOnline
This collection includes the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series consisting of 53 volumes (1936-present), vols. 1-3 of the Stair Society Supplementary Series, as well as books, abridgments and links to scholarly articles from HeinOnline's Law Journal Library that discuss Scots law.
Statutes of the Realm - HeinOnline
The Statutes of the Realm is an authoritative collection of Acts of the Parliament of England from the earliest times to the Union of the Parliaments in 1707, and Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain passed up to the death of Queen Anne in 1714.
World Constitutions Illustrated - HeinOnline
This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
In the Print Collection
You can use the Library Catalog to find more resources about the law of the UK. By searching the following subject headings or doing a keyword search, you can browse all materials dealing with that particular subject.
United Kingdom: Great Britain
Law -- Great Britain
Law reports, digests, etc. -- Great Britain
Law reports, digests, etc. -- England
Law reports, digests, etc. -- Scotland
Law -- Great Britain -- Periodicals
Great Britain -- Politics and government
Law -- Great Britain -- History
Other Helpful Key Terms: Great Britain, England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Parliament, British