It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Immigration Law Research Resources: Further Research
Proquest provides comprehensive access to United States legislative information which is available from the publisher, Congressional Information Service, Inc. (CIS). Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. If you need assistance in using Congressional, please ask a reference librarian. This Database was formerly known as CIS Congressional Universe.
The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage is comprehensive and begins from inception (1936). Also includes the CFR from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), United States Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
Source for law journal articles, legal reference materials, legislative history compilations, state historical statutes and cases, US treaties, US statutes and regulations, US administrative and Congressional documents, Supreme Court cases, and more. These individual collections are separately listed as databases.
The Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) publishes expert practice manuals on immigration law for both new and experienced practitioners, whether working in private practice or at nonprofit organizations. Our practical, hands-on manuals provide step-by-step guidance, clearly worded explanations, legal citations, sample materials, charts, checklists, practice tips, and case studies, helping you save time and money while expanding your expertise. Contact a librarian for access credentials.
This monumental collection is a compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This first comprehensive database includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
Contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Includes: American Bar Association journals, core US journals, criminal justice journals, international & non-US law journals, and most-cited law journals.
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Students and researchers are increasingly looking for the numbers behind the issues for assignments and research. Statistics found in the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States can provide context for users when developing and supporting their position in projects. Plus, if you add a Historical Collection, they will unearth statistics for the way America was and can compare to the way America is today.
The Statistical Abstract of the World is a collection of data from many countries, generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments. It contains country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Currently covers over 75 countries including: Afghanistan, Brazil, Cyprus, India, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, and Turkey.
This collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926. Also includes the Early Federal Laws Collection, which represents the most complete collection of federal statute compilations prior to the US Code.
This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-2015), as well as other important congressional material. Using the Daily-to-Bound Locator Tool, you can quickly find a page in the Bound volume from the Daily edition.
Featuring reports, decisions, and records, this library is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States' most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes more than 65 GPO best-selling legal titles.
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history.
Utilizing the Library Catalog, lawcat.loyno.edu, is a great way to find more resources for your research. By searching subject headings or doing a keyword search, you can browse all materials dealing with that particular subject.