American Civil Liberties Union of Louisiana - provides services to combat government abuses of individual rights but limited to cases that raise significant constitutional or civil liberties issues affecting a large number of people. They do not take cases by phone or walk-in. See their website to file a complaint form. Call toll free: (866) 522-0617, or locally (504) 522-0617.
Green Justice Legal - provides individuals, communities and organizations free and low cost legal services for environmental justice and human rights issues. A professional team of experienced attorneys work with law students to provide a wide range of services, including research, strategy, legislation, policy advocacy, litigation and document creation. See their website to submit a detailed overview of your issue.
Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy - provides human rights based legal services for marginalized communities, including immigrant children, asylum seekers and victims of domestic violence, disaster claims assistance and low cost legal services on land rights, including successions. Contact: 620 Oak Harbor Blvd, Suite 203, Slidell, LA 70458. (985) 643-6186, fax: (985) 643-6118. Email: info@gcclp.org.
Roderick & Solange MacArthur Justice Center in New Orleans - provides legal representation in cases that raise constitutional or significant issues involving the criminal justice system. See their website for the kinds of cases they represent. For consideration contact: Co-Directors James W. Craif and Katie M. Schwartzmann. 4400 S. Carrollton Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119-6824. (504) 620-2259. Email: admin@macarthurjustice.org.
Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request.
Local Federal Courts
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit - provides forms, court rules and opinions of the Louisiana Federal Court of Appeals from 1992 to present. Contact: 600 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 310-7708. Fifth Circuit Library, 600 Camp Street, room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797. The United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit is listed separately.
United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana - the website provides forms, court rules, rules and forms for filing without an attorney, and opinions from 2003 to 2015. Contact: 500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 589-7788.
Local State Courts
City of New Orleans, Municipal Court - provides contact information for the court. The municipal court handles violations of city ordinances except traffic code violations. Contact: 727 S. Broad Street, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-9700, fax: (504) 658-9725.
Louisiana Supreme Court - provides forms, court rules and information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts, Contact: Clerk of Court, 400 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 310-2300. See separate listing for the Law Library of Louisiana which is open to the public and located on the premises.
New Orleans Traffic Court - provides resources for handling moving violations such as explaining the court process and payment information. Contact: 727 S. Broad Street, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-8500.
Orleans Parish Civil District Court - provides forms, court rules, information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts. See their website for department phone numbers and emails. Contact: 421 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112. Clerk of Civil District Court: (504) 407-0000.
Orleans Parish Criminal District Court - provides forms, court rules and information on expungement and how to file a motion. Also within the criminal court system is Drug Court, Domestic Violence Court and Mental Health Court. Contact: 2700 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-9100, fax: (504) 658-9113.
Orleans Parish Juvenile Court - provides forms including a juvenile expungement form, and information about court run programs such as Behavioral Health Services, Drug Court and Juvenile Detention Alternatives. Contact 1100-B Milton Street, New Orleans, LA 70122. (504) 658-9500, fax: (504) 658-9556.
State of Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit - provides forms, court rules, opinions from 1997 to present and links to other courts. Contact: 410 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 412-6001, fax: (504) 412-6019. Email: coc@la4th.org.
Disability Rights Louisiana - provides legal assistance, information and referral for people with disabilities and senior citizens. Contact: 8325 Oak Street, New Orleans, LA. Call toll free: (800) 960-7705. Email: info@disabilityrightsla.org.
Louisiana Disability Legal Resources - provides advocacy and legal resources for people with disabilities.
United States Department of Justice's Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Mediation Program - provides free mediation services that informally resolve ADA complaints and develop mutually agreed upon solutions that comply with the ADA. Call the ADA information line (800) 514-0301 (Voice) and 800-514-0383 (TTY). Call Mon.-Wed. and Fri. 9:30–5:30, Thurs. 12:30–5:30 (Eastern Time). See their website for instructions on how to file a complaint.
Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy - provides human rights based legal services for marginalized communities, including immigrant children, asylum seekers and victims of domestic violence, disaster claims assistance and low cost legal services on land rights, including successions. Contact: 620 Oak Harbor Blvd, Suite 203, Slidell, LA 70458. (985) 643-6186, fax: (985) 643-6118. Email: info@gcclp.org.
Immigration Legal Services, Catholic Charities of New Orleans - provides counseling and legal representation to immigrants and their families, including victims of domestic violence. Contact: 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 200, New Orleans, LA 70113. Call Julie Ward: (504) 457-3462, or email: jward@ccano.org. Call toll free: (866) 891-2210, or locally (504) 310-6873.
Jefferson Parish Domestic Violence Program - provides legal advocacy for persons affected by domestic violence in Jefferson Parish, including filing protective orders, obtaining social services and help with obtaining representation for protective order hearings. Contact: 24th Judicial District Court help desk in the Judicial Administration Conference Room, 2nd floor, 200 Derbigney St., Gretna. Hours are Tues. and Thurs. 10:00-noon.
Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence - is a coalition of statewide shelters that provide advocacy, resources and referrals, including legal services, for victims of domestic abuse. See ‘Victim Help’ on their website for a list of help centers by parish. Contact: P.O. Box 77308, Baton Rouge, LA 70879. The Louisiana statewide hotline is available 24 hours/7 days a week: (888) 411-1333, or locally (225) 752-1296.
Louisiana Domestic Abuse Hotline - provides 24 hour assistance to victims of domestic abuse. Call toll free: (888) 411-1333.
Mental Health Advocacy Service - provides legal representation through the Child Advocacy Program for children who have been abused, neglected or under the care of the Department of Children and Family Services. They also provide legal representation for adults in mental health matters. See their website for locations throughout Louisiana. Contact: The New Orleans Office: 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1105, New Orleans, LA 70112. (504) 568-8904, fax: (504) 568-8914. Email: Romona.Jordan@la.gov.
Crescent House/New Orleans Family Justice Center - offers help and assistance, including emergency shelter assistance, in domestic violence cases. 24/7 Hotline: (504) 866-9554.
New Orleans Family Justice Center - provides legal assistance for victims of physical abuse. 24 hour crisis hotline: (888) 411-1333, or locally (504) 866-9554.
Orleans Parish Criminal District Court - provides forms, court rules and information on expungement and how to file a motion. Also within the criminal court system is Drug Court, Domestic Violence Court and Mental Health Court. Contact: 2700 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-9100, fax: (504) 658-9113.
Project SAVE, Catholic Charities of New Orleans - provides free emergency legal representation to survivors of domestic violence. Contact: Allyson Tuttle (504) 310-6872, email: atuttle@ccano.org. 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 200, New Orleans, LA 70113.
WomensLaw.org - provides legal information and support for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.