Findlaw - This website provides forms and links for both state and federal codes, and case law.
LawHelp.org - is a website with resources for free and low cost legal aid, public interest law offices, basic information about legal rights, court forms, self-help information, court information, links to social service agencies and more.
LawHelpInteractive.org - provides help for filling out legal forms. Translation is available in Spanish, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese.
Law Library of Louisiana - provides reference assistance, onsite access to databases and legal guides. See their website for a thorough list of resources such as self-help centers across the state, self-representation resources, contact information for Louisiana courts, and online forms. Contact: Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal Street, 2nd Floor, New Orleans, LA 70130-2104. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00. Call toll free in Louisiana: (800) 820-3038, or locally (504) 310-2400, fax: (504) 310-2419. Email: library@lasc.org.
LEAP (Legal Education and Assistance Program), Louisiana State Bar Association - provides legal resources by parish, including lawyer referrals, legal aid, law libraries and guides on specific topics. See LEAP on the LSBA website and the Law Library of Louisiana website. For expungement see the Law Library of Louisiana.
Louisiana Clerks of Court Association - provides a listing of Clerks of Court for filing pleadings, obtaining court documents and locations and forms.
LouisianaLawHelp.org - is an online guide for free legal help in Louisiana, but also has basic information about legal rights, court information, forms, legal self-help resources, links to social service agencies, and more.
Louisiana Supreme Court - provides forms, court rules and information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts, Contact: Clerk of Court, 400 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 310-2300. See separate listing for the Law Library of Louisiana which is open to the public and located on the premises.
Loyola University New Orleans College of Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases and legal guides. Contact: 526 Pine Street, New Orleans, LA 70118. Open every day: see website for hours and legal guides. Circulation: (504) 861-5550, reference: (504) 861-5792, fax: (504) 861-5739.
LSU Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases and legal guides. Contact: Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Law Library, 1 East Campus Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70803-1010. Open 7 days. See website for hours. Circulation: (225) 578-8814, reference: (225) 578-4042, fax: (225) 578-5773. Email: reference@law.lsu.edu.
Orleans Parish Civil District Court - provides forms, court rules, information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts. See their website for department phone numbers and emails. Contact: 421 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112. Clerk of Civil District Court: (504) 407-0000.
Self-Help Resource Centers - provide resources, referrals to free legal aid services and general questions from people without legal representation. Volunteers help with using the website www.LawHelp.org/LA, filling out court forms and accessing case information. Locations are listed below.
Tulane Law Library - provides reference assistance and legal guides. See their website for access restrictions. Contact: Weinmann Hall, Third Floor, 6329 Freret Street, New Orleans, LA 70118-6231. Circulation: (504) 865-5952, reference: (504) 862-8872, fax: (504) 865-5917.
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit - provides forms, court rules and opinions of the Louisiana Federal Court of Appeals from 1992 to present. Contact: 600 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 310-7708. Fifth Circuit Library, 600 Camp Street, room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797. The United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit is listed separately.
United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana - the website provides forms, court rules, rules and forms for filing without an attorney, and opinions from 2003 to 2015. Contact: 500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 589-7788.
Project H.E.L.P. (Homeless Experience Legal Protection) - provides legal resources to the homeless, including representation in the Homeless Court Program. See their website for service locations.
Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center - provides assistance in filing a housing discrimination complaint, fair housing investigations, and homeownership protection, including cases of mortgage delinquency or default, insurance claims and other issues. Contact: 404 S. Jefferson Davis Parkway, New Orleans, LA 70119. Call toll free: (877) 445-2100, or locally (504) 596-2100. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00. Email: info@gnofairhousing.org.