Pro Bono Project - provides lawyer referrals to resolve civil legal issues. Clients must meet federal income requirement poverty guidelines. Their website provides intake forms and alternate resources if you don’t meet the poverty guidelines. They also have community legal clinics but call to get a current schedule. Contact: 615 Baronne St., Suite 203, New Orleans, LA 70113. (504) 581-4043. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org, or for intake form and questions: email@example.com.
Pro Bono Program Listings - is a list of free legal assistance centers in Louisiana.
Project for Older Prisoners (POPS) - provides free representation in parole hearings to older prisoners (over 50) and others with series medical conditions and housed at one of 5 correctional facilities around the state: Washington Correctional Institute, Louisiana State Penitentiary (Angola), La. Correctional Institute for Women (St. Gabriel), Elayn Hunt Correctional Institute, and Dixon Correctional Institute. On a case-by-case basis, POPS may consider helping prisoners housed at Orleans Parish Prison. Contact: 6329 Freret Street, Suite 130F, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 865-5849, fax: (504) 862-8721. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Project H.E.L.P. (Homeless Experience Legal Protection) - provides legal resources to the homeless, including representation in the Homeless Court Program. See their website for service locations.
Project SAVE, Catholic Charities of New Orleans - provides free emergency legal representation to survivors of domestic violence. Contact: Allyson Tuttle (504) 310-6872, email: email@example.com. 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 200, New Orleans, LA 70113.
Region Legal Service Office Southeast, Branch Office New Orleans - provides forms, civil legal services and representation to all uniformed servicemen on active duty. Services are varied and include family law, foreclosure, landlord/tenant, wills and more. Call to schedule an appointment or fill out their intake form online. Walk-ins allowed for notaries and power of attorney. Contact: NAS JRB Belle Chasse, 400 Russell Ave., Bldg 492, Room 102, New Orleans, LA 70143-6100. Hours are Mon. Wed. Fri. 9:00-3:30 and Tues. & Thurs. 8:00-3:30. (504) 678-4692. Fax: (504) 678-4693.
Roderick & Solange MacArthur Justice Center in New Orleans - provides legal representation in cases that raise constitutional or significant issues involving the criminal justice system. See their website for the kinds of cases they represent. For consideration contact: Co-Directors James W. Craif and Katie M. Schwartzmann. 4400 S. Carrollton Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119-6824. (504) 620-2259. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Self-Help Resource Centers - provide resources, referrals to free legal aid services and general questions from people without legal representation. Volunteers help with using the website www.LawHelp.org/LA, filling out court forms and accessing case information. Locations are listed below.
Self-Representation Litigants, Louisiana State Bar Association - provides information to low-income individuals with civil legal issues. The website offers options for people seeking help or handling the case themselves, including a list of self-help centers by parish, lawyer referrals and legal aid services by parish. Also see resources under the 'Public Resources' tab for filing lawyer complaints and other services.
Southern Center for Human Rights - represents individuals on death row at trial, on appeal, and in the post-conviction review process. Contact: 83 Poplar Street NW, Atlanta, GA, 30303. (404) 688-1202, fax: (404) 688-9440.
Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request.
Southeast Louisiana Legal Services - provides free legal aid for low-income people in 22 parishes across Southeast Louisiana. Outreach clinics, free legal resources and other offices are on their website. See their website to apply for services or call their intake number from 9:00-1:00 daily, (504) 529-1000. 1010 Common Street, Annex Building, Suite 1400A, New Orleans, LA 70112. Call toll free: (877) 521-6242, or locally (504) 529-1000 or (504) 529-1008, fax: (504) 529-1009.
State of Louisiana Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit - provides forms, court rules, opinions from 1997 to present and links to other courts. Contact: 410 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 412-6001, fax: (504) 412-6019. Email: email@example.com.