ELLA Project, Entertainment Law Legal Assistance - provides legal services for low and moderate income artists and musicians. Contact: (504) 250-0429. Email: gene@ellanola.org.
Louisiana Attorney Disciplinary Board - provides assistance for filing a complaint of an attorney to the Office of Disciplinary Counsel. See website for instructions before sending complaints to: 4000 S. Sherwood Forest Blvd., Suite 607, Baton Rouge, LA 70816. Call toll free: (800) 326-8022, or locally (225) 293-3900.
Pre-Trial
Baton Rouge Capital Conflict Office - provides legal representation to indigent defendants accused of capital offenses. BRCCO accepts appointments in cases with a conflict of interest on the part of the local public defender or where there is no available attorneys certified to represent capital defendants. Contact: 525 Florida Street, Suite 310, Baton Rouge, LA 70801. (225) 338-0235, fax: (225) 338-1948.
Capital Defense Project of Southeast Louisiana - provides legal representation for indigent defendants accused of a capital offense. Contact: Kerry P. Kuccia, Director, 3801 Canal St., Suite 400, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 595-8965, fax: (504) 558-0797.
Post-Conviction
Capital Post-Conviction Project of Louisiana - provides legal representation to all defendants sentenced to death in Louisiana. Contact: Gary Clements, Director, 1340 Poydras, Suite 1700, New Orleans, LA 70112. (504) 212-2110.
Centurion - provides free advocacy and investigative services to persons convicted to life imprisonment or death sentences. They do not accept cases by phone or walk-ins. For consideration, send a letter to: Centurion Ministries, Inc., Attn: Case Development Manager, 1000 Herrontown Road, Princeton, NJ 08540. See website for information on what to include in your letter.
Equal Justice Initiative - provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair and just treatment in the criminal justice system. They also do work on issues concerning children in adult prisons, the death penalty, and race and justice. They do not take cases by phone or walk-ins. For consideration, send an email to: intake@eji.org or send a letter to: Equal Justice Initiative, Attn: Intake Department, 122 Commerce Street, Montgomery, Alabama 36104. Do not send legal materials. For general inquires call: (334) 269-1803, fax: (334) 269-1806. Email: contact_us@eji.org.
Innocence Project New Orleans - post conviction representation of prisoners serving life sentences or near life sentences in Louisiana and some Mississippi parishes. They do not take cases by phone or walk-ins. See website for eligibility and information for Angola prison inmates. For consideration, request an application form: Case Manager, Innocence Project New Orleans, 4051 Ulloa Street, New Orleans, LA 70119.
Southern Center for Human Rights - represents individuals on death row at trial, on appeal, and in the post-conviction review process. Contact: 83 Poplar Street NW, Atlanta, GA, 30303. (404) 688-1202, fax: (404) 688-9440.
Child Support Enforcement - 24 hours/7 days a week toll free hotline: 1-888-LAHELP-U (1-888-524-3578). They provide guidance for parents seeking child support. There are charges for enforcement. See website for more information and locations across the state. New Orleans office: Dept. of Children and Family Services, 1630 Iberville Street, Suite 2800, New Orleans, LA 70112. Fax: (504) 556-9708.
Equal Justice Initiative - provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair and just treatment in the criminal justice system. They also do work on issues concerning children in adult prisons, the death penalty, and race and justice. They do not take cases by phone or walk-ins. For consideration, send an email to: intake@eji.org or send a letter to: Equal Justice Initiative, Attn: Intake Department, 122 Commerce Street, Montgomery, Alabama 36104. Do not send legal materials. For general inquires call: (334) 269-1803, fax: (334) 269-1806. Email: contact_us@eji.org.
Family Legal Center at Children’s Hospital - provides legal services to patients and their families. Walk-ins are accepted for scheduled clinics. Free and discounted services are available with verification of household income and family size. Contact: 200 Henry Clay Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. To make an appointment call: (504) 355-0983.
Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy - provides human rights based legal services for marginalized communities, including immigrant children, asylum seekers and victims of domestic violence, disaster claims assistance and low cost legal services on land rights, including successions. Contact: 620 Oak Harbor Blvd, Suite 203, Slidell, LA 70458. (985) 643-6186, fax: (985) 643-6118. Email: info@gcclp.org.
Juvenile Law Center- provides legal representation and other resources for children in the child welfare and justice systems. Contact: The Philadelphia Building, 1315 Walnut Street, 4th Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107. Call toll free: (800) 875-8887, toll free information line: (888) 864-6393, or (215) 625-0551, fax: (215) 625-2808.
Louisiana Center for Children’s Rights - provides representation and other resources for juveniles in the criminal justice system. Contact: 1100-B Milton Street, New Orleans, LA 70122. (504) 658-6860.
Mental Health Advocacy Service - provides legal representation through the Child Advocacy Program for children who have been abused, neglected or under the care of the Department of Children and Family Services. They also provide legal representation for adults in mental health matters. See their website for locations throughout Louisiana. Contact: The New Orleans Office: 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1105, New Orleans, LA 70112. (504) 568-8904, fax: (504) 568-8914. Email: Romona.Jordan@la.gov.
Orleans Parish Juvenile Court - provides forms including a juvenile expungement form, and information about court run programs such as Behavioral Health Services, Drug Court and Juvenile Detention Alternatives. Contact 1100-B Milton Street, New Orleans, LA 70122. (504) 658-9500, fax: (504) 658-9556.
Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request.