Transgender Legal Defense & Education Fund - provides representation in discrimination cases against transgender civil rights and also assists with name changing. See their website to fill out in-take forms. They are unable to provide intakes or advice by email. Contact: 20 West 20th St., Suite 705, New York, NY 10011. (646) 862-9396, fax: (646) 930-5654. Email: info@transgenderlegal.org.
Tulane Law Clinics - provides legal services for cases involving civil, criminal and juvenile litigation, domestic violence, environmental justice, and legislative and administrative advocacy at The Public Law Center serving indigent clients. See website for specific programs and their contact information.
Tulane Law Library - provides reference assistance and legal guides. See their website for access restrictions. Contact: Weinmann Hall, Third Floor, 6329 Freret Street, New Orleans, LA 70118-6231. Circulation: (504) 865-5952, reference: (504) 862-8872, fax: (504) 865-5917.
United States code - provides access to the laws of the United States.
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit - provides forms, court rules and opinions of the Louisiana Federal Court of Appeals from 1992 to present. Contact: 600 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 310-7708. Fifth Circuit Library, 600 Camp Street, room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797. The United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit is listed separately.
United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit - provides reference assistance. 600 Camp St., room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797, fax: 504-310-7578. Email: librarypublicservices@ca5.uscourts.gov
United States Department of Justice's Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Mediation Program - provides free mediation services that informally resolve ADA complaints and develop mutually agreed upon solutions that comply with the ADA. Call the ADA information line (800) 514-0301 (Voice) and 800-514-0383 (TTY). Call Mon.-Wed. and Fri. 9:30–5:30, Thurs. 12:30–5:30 (Eastern Time). See their website for instructions on how to file a complaint.
United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana - the website provides forms, court rules, rules and forms for filing without an attorney, and opinions from 2003 to 2015. Contact: 500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70103. (504) 589-7788.
Via Link - provides referrals to legal resources. See their website to submit a request online or call: 211.
WomensLaw.org - provides legal information and support for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.