Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy - provides human rights based legal services for marginalized communities, including immigrant children, asylum seekers and victims of domestic violence, disaster claims assistance and low cost legal services on land rights, including successions. Contact: 620 Oak Harbor Blvd, Suite 203, Slidell, LA 70458. (985) 643-6186, fax: (985) 643-6118. Email: info@gcclp.org.
Immigration Legal Services, Catholic Charities of New Orleans - provides counseling and legal representation to immigrants and their families, including victims of domestic violence. Contact: 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 200, New Orleans, LA 70113. Call Julie Ward: (504) 457-3462, or email: jward@ccano.org. Call toll free: (866) 891-2210, or locally (504) 310-6873.
National Immigration Legal Services Directory - provides resources for free and low cost immigration legal services.
Orleans Parish Public Defender - The Public Defender is assigned by the court to provide legal representation to indigent clients. See their website under What We Do for information such as qualifying for a public defender, bond information, social services and resources for individual who have been arrested.
Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request.
CrescentCare Legal Services - provides free civil legal services to low-income persons living with HIV and AIDS. Contact: 2601 Tulane Avenue, Suite 500, New Orleans, LA 70119. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 8:30-5:00, walk-ins welcome on Tuesday and Thursday. (504) 568-1631.
Lambda Legal - provides legal representation in a select number of civil right cases for lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV. The website has laws by state that protect LGBT people and people living with HIV, and a help desk to answer questions and provide referrals. They do not accept walk-in inquiries. You can also fill out a help desk form online or call toll free 1-(866) 542-8336, locally at their South Central Regional Office: (214) 219-8585, fax: (214) 219-4455.
National Center for Lesbian Rights - provides free legal assistance to LGBT people and their legal advocates, litigating precedent-setting cases at the trial and appellate court levels. Call their toll free legal help line: Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00 Pacific Time (800) 528-6257, or (415) 392-6257. Contact information is found here.
Southern Poverty Law Center - provides advocacy and representation to fight hate and bigotry. They practice in the areas of immigration justice, children’s rights, LGBT rights, economic justice and mass incarceration. They do not accept individual legal cases or criminal matters. See their website to submit a request.
Transgender Legal Defense & Education Fund - provides representation in discrimination cases against transgender civil rights and also assists with name changing. Contact: 20 West 20th St., Suite 705, New York, NY 10011. (646) 862-9396, fax: (646) 930-5654. Email: info@transgenderlegal.org.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) - provides resources for filing a formal complaint of employment discrimination and also provides mediation/alternative dispute resolution services. Contact for ADR services in New Orleans: Jennifer Ortiz, Mickey Leland Federal Building, 1919 Smith Street, 7th Floor, Houston, TX 77002-8049. (713) 209-3433, fax: (713) 209-3317, TTY (713) 209-3439.
Louisiana Environmental Action Network (LEAN) - provides dispute resolution services between communities, private industry and government agencies with problems related to environmental injustice. Contact: Michael Orr, Operations Manager, 162 Croyodon Ave., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. (225) 928-1315, fax: (225) 922-9247. You can send them an email through their website.
United States Department of Justice's Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Mediation Program - provides free mediation services that informally resolve ADA complaints and develop mutually agreed upon solutions that comply with the ADA. Call the ADA information line (800) 514-0301 (Voice) and 800-514-0383 (TTY). Call Mon.-Wed. and Fri. 9:30–5:30, Thurs. 12:30–5:30 (Eastern Time). See their website for instructions on how to file a complaint.
Family Legal Center at Children’s Hospital - provides legal services to patients and their families. Walk-ins are accepted for scheduled clinics. Free and discounted services are available with verification of household income and family size. Contact: 200 Henry Clay Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118. To make an appointment call: (504) 355-0983.
Mental Health Advocacy Service - provides legal representation through the Child Advocacy Program for children who have been abused, neglected or under the care of the Department of Children and Family Services. They also provide legal representation for adults in mental health matters. See their website for locations throughout Louisiana. Contact: The New Orleans Office: 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1105, New Orleans, LA 70112. (504) 568-8904, fax: (504) 568-8914. Email: Romona.Jordan@la.gov.
Orleans Parish Criminal District Court - provides forms, court rules and information on expungement and how to file a motion. Also within the criminal court system is Drug Court, Domestic Violence Court and Mental Health Court. Contact: 2700 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-9100, fax: (504) 658-9113.
Coast Guard Legal Assistance Offices - provides legal aid to personnel with personal civil legal issues. Contact: Hale Boggs Federal Building, 500 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 671-2331, (504) 671-2036, fax: (504) 671-2041.
U.S. Navy Judge Advocate Generals' Corps, Region Legal Service Office Southeast - provides forms, civil legal services and representation to all uniformed servicemen on active duty. Services are varied and include family law, foreclosure, landlord/tenant, wills and more. Call to schedule an appointment or fill out their intake form online. Walk-ins allowed for notaries and power of attorney. Contact: NAS JRB Belle Chasse, 400 Russell Ave., Bldg 492, Room 102, New Orleans, LA 70143-6100. Hours are Mon. Wed. Fri. 9:00-3:30 and Tues. & Thurs. 8:00-3:30. (504) 678-4692. Fax: (504) 678-4693.