In the New Orleans there are law libraries that offer print and online resources for researching your legal questions. Professional law librarians are on-site to provide research assistance but cannot give legal advice. If you have the time to visit a library, take advantage of the many self-help resources available. We have also included the link to the LSU Law Library, in Baton Rouge.
Law Library of Louisiana - provides reference assistance, onsite access to databases and legal guides. See their website for a thorough list of resources such as self-help centers across the state, self-representation resources, contact information for Louisiana courts, and online forms. Contact: Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal Street, 2nd Floor, New Orleans, LA 70130-2104. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00. Call toll free in Louisiana: (800) 820-3038, or locally (504) 310-2400, fax: (504) 310-2419. Email: library@lasc.org.
Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases and legal guides. Contact: 526 Pine Street, New Orleans, LA 70118. Open 7 days. See website for hours and legal guides. Circulation: (504) 861-5550, reference: (504) 861-5792, fax: (504) 861-5739.
LSU Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases, legal guides including online forms. Contact: Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Law Library, 1 East Campus Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70803-1010. Open 7 days. See website for hours. Circulation: (225) 578-8814, reference: (225) 578-4042, fax: (225) 578-5773. Email: reference@law.lsu.edu.
Tulane Law Library - provides reference assistance and legal guides. See their website for access restrictions. Contact: Weinmann Hall, Third Floor, 6329 Freret Street, New Orleans, LA 70118-6231. Circulation: (504) 865-5952, reference: (504) 862-8872, fax: (504) 865-5917.
United States Court of Appeals Library for the Fifth Circuit - provides reference assistance and limited onsite access to databases. 600 Camp St., room 106, New Orleans, LA 70130. Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:45. (504) 310-7797, fax: 504-310-7578. Email: librarypublicservices@ca5.uscourts.gov
The New Orleans Public Library partners with Southeast Louisiana Legal Services (SLLS) to offer a "Virtual Civil Legal Clinic"; more information is available on the libary's web page:
Virtual Civil Legal Clinic
As of April 2023, the information there says these clinics take place on the second and fourth Wednesday of every month, and offer appointments to speak to volunteer attorneys by phone or video conference. This "virtual clinic" only assists with advice on civil, and not criminal cases, and individuals who want to take advantage of this service must meet the law-income criteria specified on the library's web page.