ABA Free Legal Answers - provides legal advice and assistance for civil legal questions, not criminal. You must qualify financially for this service.
Findlaw - This website provides forms and links for both state and federal codes, and case law.
LawHelp.org - is a website with resources for free and low cost legal aid, public interest law offices, basic information about legal rights, court forms, self-help information, court information, links to social service agencies and more.
LawHelpInteractive.org - provides help for filling out legal forms. Translation is available in Spanish, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese.
LEAP (Legal Education and Assistance Program), Louisiana State Bar Association - provides legal resources by parish, including lawyer referrals, legal aid, law libraries and guides on specific topics. See LEAP on the LSBA website and the Law Library of Louisiana website. For expungement see the Law Library of Louisiana.
Legal Aid Area Directory - provides a list of free legal assistance and/or representation in civil cases to low-income residents.
Louisiana Administrative Code - provides state agency regulations and rules, from environmental regulations to rules governing professional and occupational standards. Recent regulations not yet published in the LAC are available in the Louisiana Register and under Executive Orders, Emergency Rules, and Policy and Procedure on the Office of the State Registrar website.
Louisiana Clerks of Court Association - provides a listing of Clerks of Court for filing pleadings, obtaining court documents and locations and expungement forms.
Louisiana Disability Legal Resources - provides advocacy and legal resources for people with disabilities.
Louisiana Domestic Abuse Hotline - provides 24 hour assistance to victims of domestic abuse. Call toll free: (888) 411-1333.
LouisianaLawHelp.org - is an online guide for free legal help in Louisiana, but also has basic information about legal rights, court information, forms, legal self-help resources, links to social service agencies, and more.
Louisiana Public Defender Board - coordinates the Public Defender system in Louisiana. Public defenders are assigned by the courts. The website lists contact information for public defenders by parish.
Louisiana State Legislature - provides access to current Louisiana laws and bills enacted from 1997 to the present.
Municode - provides access to local laws governing municipalities in Louisiana, including New Orleans, Jefferson Parish, Kenner and Harahan.
National Immigration Legal Services Directory - provides resources for free and low cost immigration legal services.
NOLO - provides affordable do-it-yourself guides and free legal resources such as definitions and explanations of the law, legal research resources including links to state laws, free legal assistance, and lawyer referral services. See “Free Legal Information” on the bottom of their website.
Pro Bono Program Listings - is a list of free legal assistance centers in Louisiana.
Self-Representation Litigants, Louisiana State Bar Association - provides information to low-income individuals with civil legal issues. The website offers options for people seeking help or handling the case themselves, including a list of self-help centers by parish, lawyer referrals and legal aid services by parish. Also see resources under the 'Public Resources' tab for filing lawyer complaints and other services.
United States code - provides access to the laws of the United States.
United States Department of Justice's Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Mediation Program - provides free mediation services that informally resolve ADA complaints and develop mutually agreed upon solutions that comply with the ADA. Call the ADA information line (800) 514-0301 (Voice) and 800-514-0383 (TTY). Call Mon.-Wed. and Fri. 9:30–5:30, Thurs. 12:30–5:30 (Eastern Time). See their website for instructions on how to file a complaint.
Via Link - provides referrals to legal resources. See their website to submit a request online or call: 211.
WomensLaw.org - provides legal information and support for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.