Lambda Legal - provides legal representation in a select number of civil right cases for lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV. The website has laws by state that protect LGBT people and people living with HIV, and a help desk to answer questions and provide referrals. They do not accept walk-in inquiries. You can also fill out a help desk form online or call toll free 1-(866) 542-8336, locally at their South Central Regional Office: (214) 219-8585, fax: (214) 219-4455.
LawHelp.org - is a website with resources for free and low cost legal aid, public interest law offices, basic information about legal rights, court forms, self-help information, court information, links to social service agencies and more.
LawHelpInteractive.org - provides help for filling out legal forms. Translation is available in Spanish, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese.
Law Library of Louisiana - provides reference assistance, onsite access to databases and legal guides. See their website for a thorough list of resources such as self-help centers across the state, self-representation resources, contact information for Louisiana courts, and online forms. Contact: Louisiana Supreme Court, 400 Royal Street, 2nd Floor, New Orleans, LA 70130-2104. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00. Call toll free in Louisiana: (800) 820-3038, or locally (504) 310-2400, fax: (504) 310-2419. Email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
LEAP (Legal Education and Assistance Program), Louisiana State Bar Association - provides legal resources by parish, including lawyer referrals, legal aid, law libraries and guides on specific topics. See LEAP on the LSBA website and the Law Library of Louisiana website. For expungement see the Law Library of Louisiana.
Legal Aid Area Directory - provides a list of free legal assistance and/or representation in civil cases to low-income residents.
Louisiana Administrative Code – provides state agency regulations and rules, from environmental regulations to rules governing professional and occupational standards. Recent regulations not yet published in the LAC are available in the Louisiana Register and under Executive Orders, Emergency Rules, and Policy and Procedure on the Office of the State Registrar website.
Louisiana Appellate Project - provides appellate services for indigents in all non-capital felony appeals. Contact: James H. Looney, Director, P.O. Box 3340, Covington, LA 70434-3340. (985) 892-1707, fax: (985) 892-9377.
Louisiana Attorney Disciplinary Board - provides assistance for filing a complaint of an attorney to the Office of Disciplinary Counsel. See website for instructions before sending complaints to: 4000 S. Sherwood Forest Blvd., Suite 607, Baton Rouge, LA 70816. Call toll free: (800) 326-8022, or locally (225) 293-3900.
Louisiana Center for Children’s Rights - provides representation and other resources for juveniles in the criminal justice system. Contact: 1100-B Milton Street, New Orleans, LA 70122. (504) 658-6860.
Louisiana Civil Justice Center - provides free advice on civil legal issues, forms, legal services outreach (see “Tour” on their website) and self-help resource centers. See their website to fill out an intake form. Call toll free: (800) 310-7029, or locally (504) 355-0970. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-4:00.
Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence - is a coalition of statewide shelters that provide advocacy, resources and referrals, including legal services, for victims of domestic abuse. See ‘Victim Help’ on their website for a list of help centers by parish. Contact: P.O. Box 77308, Baton Rouge, LA 70879. The Louisiana statewide hotline is available 24 hours/7 days a week: (888) 411-1333, or locally (225) 752-1296.
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality - provides environmental regulatory assistance to small businesses and communities, investigates environmental violations, takes enforcement actions and assesses penalties to agencies in violation of state environmental laws. Call their 24 hour toll free hotline to report an environmental concern 1-(888) 763-5424, or locally Mon.-Fri. 8:00-4:30, (225) 219-3640, after business hours (225) 342-1234, or file a complaint online. Complaints can be made anonymously by phone Mon.-Fri. 9:00-3:00. Call to report an incidence of littering or illegal dumping 1-(888) 548-7284.
Louisiana Disability Legal Resources - provides advocacy and legal resources for people with disabilities.
Louisiana Domestic Abuse Hotline - provides 24 hour assistance to victims of domestic abuse. Call toll free: (888) 411-1333.
Louisiana Environmental Action Network (LEAN) - provides dispute resolution services between communities, private industry and government agencies with problems related to environmental injustice. Contact: Michael Orr, Operations Manager, 162 Croyodon Ave., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. (225) 928-1315, fax: (225) 922-9247. You can send them an email through their website.
LouisianaLawHelp.org -is an online guide for free legal help in Louisiana, but also has basic information about legal rights, court information, forms, legal self-help resources, links to social service agencies, and more.
Louisiana Public Defender Board - coordinates the Public Defender system in Louisiana. Public defenders are assigned by the courts. The website lists contact information for public defenders by parish.
Louisiana Supreme Court - provides forms, court rules and information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts, Contact: Clerk of Court, 400 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 310-2300. See separate listing for the Law Library of Louisiana which is open to the public and located on the premises.
Low Profit Law Group of Louisiana, L3C - provides legal representation on a sliding scale based on the client’s income. Contact: 1050 South Jefferson Davis Parkway, Suite 201, New Orleans, LA 70125. Hours are Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00. (504) 304-3323, fax: (504) 304-3324. Email general inquiries to: LowProfitLawGroupLA@gmail.com.
Loyola Law Clinic -The Stuart H. Smith Law Clinic and Center for Social Justice - provides legal services for the indigent in New Orleans, for cases involving criminal law, immigration and family law, children’s rights and community and workplace justice. Contact: 540 Broadway Street, New Orleans, LA 70118. (504) 861-5590, fax: (504) 861-5440.
Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases and legal guides. Contact: 526 Pine Street, New Orleans, LA 70118. Open 7 days. See website for hours and legal guides. Circulation: (504) 861-5550, reference: (504) 861-5792, fax: (504) 861-5739.
LSU Law Library - provides reference assistance, limited onsite access to databases, legal guides including online forms. Contact: Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Law Library, 1 East Campus Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70803-1010. Open 7 days. See website for hours. Circulation: (225) 578-8814, reference: (225) 578-4042, fax: (225) 578-5773. Email: email@example.com.