Skip to main content

Free/Low Cost Legal Services in New Orleans: M-O

Resources beginning with M-O

Mental Health Advocacy Service - provides legal representation through the Child Advocacy Program for children who have been abused, neglected or under the care of the Department of Children and Family Services. They also provide legal representation for adults in mental health matters. See their website for locations throughout Louisiana. Contact: The New Orleans Office: 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1105, New Orleans, LA 70112. (504) 568-8904, fax: (504) 568-8914. Email: Romona.Jordan@la.gov

Metropolitan Center for Women & Children - provides legal representation and advocacy for victims of domestic or date violence, sexual assault, stalking, and immigration issues affecting victims of human trafficking. Contact: 24 hour crisis hotline: (504) 837-5400.

Municode - provides access to local laws governing municipalities in Louisiana, including New Orleans, Jefferson Parish, Kenner and Harahan.

National Center for Lesbian Rights - provides free legal assistance to LGBT people and their legal advocates, litigating precedent-setting cases at the trial and appellate court levels. Call their toll free legal help line: Mon.-Fri. 9:00-5:00 Pacific Time (800) 528-6257, or (415) 392-6257. Email a brief description: Info@NCLRights.org, or submit an online form

National Immigration Legal Services Directory - provides resources for free and low cost immigration legal services. 

National Women’s Law Center - provides representation in a small number of civil cases but they also provide information, guidance and referrals for issues involving sex discrimination.  Submit a form online for assistance. 

New Orleans Family Justice Center - provides legal assistance for victims of physical abuse. 24 hour crisis hotline: (800) 411-1333, or locally (504) 866-9554. 

New Orleans Traffic Court - provides resources for handling moving violations such as explaining the court process and payment information. Contact: 727 S. Broad Street, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-8500. 

NOLO - provides affordable do-it-yourself guides and free legal resources such as definitions and explanations of the law, legal research resources including links to state laws, free legal assistance, and lawyer referral services.  See “Free Legal Information” on the bottom of their website. 

Orleans Parish Civil District Court - provides forms, court rules, information on filing an order of protection and contact information for Louisiana courts. See their website for department phone numbers and emails. Contact: 421 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112. Clerk of Civil District Court: (504) 407-0000. 

Orleans Parish Criminal District Court - provides forms, court rules and information on expungement and how to file a motion. Also within the criminal court system is Drug Court, Domestic Violence Court and Mental Health Court. Contact: 2700 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119. (504) 658-9100, fax: (504) 658-9113.

Orleans Parish Juvenile Court - provides forms including a juvenile expungement form, and information about court run programs such as Behavioral Health Services, Drug Court and Juvenile Detention Alternatives. Contact 1100-B Milton Street, New Orleans, LA 70122. (504) 658-9500, fax: (504) 658-9556. 

Orleans Parish Public Defender - The Public Defender is assigned by the court to provide legal representation to indigent clients. See their website under ‘What We Do/Legal Resources’ for information such as qualifying for a public defender, bond information, social services and resources for immigrants who have been arrested. 

  • District Defender: Derwyn Bunton, 2601 Tulane Avenue, 7th Floor, New Orleans, 70119. (504) 821-8101, fax: (504) 821-5285.
  • Juvenile Regional Services: Executive Director: Josh Perry, 1820 St. Charles, Suite 205, New Orleans, LA 70130. (504) 207-4577, Juvenile Court: (504) 658-9586, fax: (504) 267-4789.